The Virginia Prize for Fiction

Aurora Metro launched its biennial prize to find new women fiction writers writing in English from around the world in 2009.

The 5th Virginia Prize for Fiction (2017) is now closed for submissions.

We are busy reading all the manuscripts, and will be in contact with authors soon.


The prize is open to any woman (over 18) around the world, writing in English.

The winner will receive £1,000 and a conditional offer of publication by Aurora Metro Books.

The novel can be of any genre but cannot have been published or self-published before.

Deadline was:

1 October 2017 (entry fee £15)


If unable to pay by PayPal please send to cheque (payable to Aurora Metro Publications Ltd) to 67 Grove Ave, Twickenham TW1 4HX

or email if you wish to pay via BACs.


Entry form

T&Cs/How to enter

Title of entry
Amount payable per entry


The 4th Virginia Prize for Fiction was awarded to Dipika Mukherjee for her novel Sha31945203mbala Junction, which was published by Aurora Metro in Autumn 2016.

We are publishing two other shortlisted novels in 2017: The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn and The Walls Came Down by Ewa Dodd.

Even though there were around 100 entries from all over the world the judges were unanimous in selecting this novel as they felt it dealt with a serious subject in an imaginative way.

Synopsis of Shambala Junction by Dipika Mukherjee:  Iris is visiting India from the U.S. for the first time with her fiancé, and not enjoying the experience. When she steps down off the train for a bottle of water at Shambala Junction, little does she know that her life is about to undergo a radical change. Stranded at Shambala, she becomes caught up in the drama of stall-holder Aman’s battle to recover his lost child.  Along the way, she finds real friendship, learns what counts and grows to love India, in all its vivacity and charm.

The prize’s founder, publisher Cheryl Robson said “We are delighted to have found such an entertaining and topical novel to publish. We welcome another internationally renowned author to the eclectic stable of fine novelists which Aurora Metro has been building.”


Previous Winners

The sponsor

The Prize is sponsored by ea Change Group, a Richmond-based company which provides Change Management Services globally.